Egg on My Face: A Brief Breakfast Tale

After three years of trying to make acceptable scrambled eggs for my mother, I thought I had it down. The last two times they were declared “just right”; today I risked the question.
Me: “Have I mastered scrambled eggs?”
Mama, after some thought: “Well, they are better than I can do.”
I can prepare cold cereal better than she can at this point.
After more thought: “I don’t know if they are as good as your Daddy’s.”
Apparently I am competing with a 20-plus year old sensory memory. I set myself up, and I got what I asked for!
3 thoughts on “Egg on My Face: A Brief Breakfast Tale

  1. Pingback: The Best Years of Your Life | Daughter on Duty

Leave a Reply

