The Changing Face of Mt. St. Helens

Dear Daughter on Duty readers: I invite you to read my photo essay on my website, Writing Down the Story, in commemoration of the 35th anniversary of the cataclysmic eruption of Mt. St. Helens.

“Thirty-five years ago today, the mountain I observed from my home every clear day for ten years of my childhood, changed her face when a cataclysmic eruption blew out her north side. Fifty-seven people lost their lives that day. There were several eruptions during the spring and summer of 1980 that snarled traffic on one side of the state or the other, plunging drivers into darkness in mid-day, clogging engines with ash, and rendering wipers useless. The ash cloud eventually swept around the world. It was epic. I wasn’t there; I was living far, far away. But I wept for the loss of our beautiful mountain….” read more

IMG_6651

Leave a Reply

